NDC’s election petition against Zabzugu MP dismissed

    The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has been affirmed winners of the 2020 Parliamentary Elections in Zabzugu in the Northern Region.

    This follows a court ruling on Friday, January 20.

    The results of the elections as declared in 2020 were challenged by the Parliamentary Candidate of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Alhassan Umar Abaako.

    He was beaten by NPP’s Jabaah John Bennam, who polled 17,580 votes to be declared winner at the regional office of the Electoral Commission, Ghana (EC) after the declaration was marred by confusion between party agents.

    Delivering his judgement, Presiding Judge Daniel Obeng indicated that the issues presented by the petitioner did not materially or substantially affect the outcome of the results as declared by the EC.

    He, therefore, affirmed the election of Mr Bennam Jabaah as the Member of Parliament.

    Meanwhile, the same court also affirmed the election of NDC’s Abdulai Jacob Iddriss as MP for Savelugu after a petition was filed against him.


    Source link

    Latest articles


    Related articles

    Leave a reply

    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here